Prom: One Year Later

Ahh, prom. (I just wrote that in the voice of the Spongebob narrator)

Let me tell you straight up: prom was never something I was emotionally attached to in any way. For me it was an excuse to burn $200 at Sephora and wear an expensive dress (and boy did I do both of those things).

Just as I finished putting on my dress I felt this sharp pang called extremely high unattainable expectations. It’s as if all the perfect prom scenes from every movie or TV show I ever watched just suddenly started playing in my head and I just thought to myself: This had better be perfect.

I didn’t have a date, so when I stepped out of the house my mom stood there with her Nikon and started snapping away. Needless to say, I wasn’t too happy with that situation because I could feel that missing spot where my “date” was supposed to be. After a whole bunch of compliments on my red dress and all the pictures with the awkward poses I was ready to go have the most perfect night of my life.

Long story short, I didn’t.

A slow dance that never happened, awkward (and borderline rude) last goodbyes, awful photo booth pictures, third wheeling, having to wake my mother up at 2am to come pick me up (SO SORRY MOM), losing the award I was nominated for, it all happened. If I had to sum it up in one word it’s unfortunate.

By the end of the night, I was the angriest I’ve ever been in my life. It was unlike anything, and I’m so thankful.

See the thing is, building something up in your head to be perfect makes everything fall flat. The more you get frustrated, the more frustrating circumstances will be created (hence why my night snowballed) because the Law of Attraction doesn’t play around. Even if friends let you down, people leave your life in ways that hurt you and your heart might be broken, you get to choose if they really hurt you. I’ve learned that ultimately, you’re the one in control.

So the next time someone does something to hurt you (unintentionally or not), know that you are the one who gives them the power to do so. If you choose to let whatever they did go, no matter how hard it is, you win. And you win big.

Lesson learned.

P.S.

If you’re part of my 6ix fam and you’re reading this, I’d like to thank you. You all have been inspirational to me in the way that you have welcomed me to the city and openly shared your lives with me. You have no idea how excited I am to come back home to you guys.

#ThankYou6ixSquad #ThankYouILLC11

Leave a Reply

